A Not-So-Pretty Peach Cake

If you look across the desserts that my family makes, we’re not so into “pretty” desserts.

I see people who make a plain cake, then spend hours decorating, and sometimes I think I want to do a cake like that.

But then I change my mind.

If I’m gonna  spend extra time on a recipe, I’m want that time to go toward flavour rather than looks.

Occasionally, I do make an effort at presentation.

But some of my best recipes, those that I like best, and that other people like best, are not wildly attractive.

I make pecan pie, and pudding cake, and they are just brown and a little dull looking. But both are requested and devoured.

Another that I often do, especially for a summer birthday cake (such as for my birthday, which is today…) is a simple peach cake.

It’s super easy, as well as being a very summery flavour. It’s your choice if you tell people how simple it is, or let them think you put a lot more effort in than you did.

So, without further ado, here is the recipe:

Peach Cake

  • 1-Box of yellow cake mix
  • 2-15 oz cans sliced peaches
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • sugar/cinnamon mix for topping

`Prepare cake mix as directed. Add peaches (include juice from one can). Mix cinnamon.
Sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top of cake.
Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes.

4 thoughts on “A Not-So-Pretty Peach Cake

  1. I was hoping to see a picture of the not-so-pretty cake. They do say beauty is in the eye of the beholder! I agree flavour (or in people, personality) over looks, every time. Sounds delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

