ACV Summer Salve

I have mentioned before that I have ridiculous spring/summer allergies.

DSCF2654

Not only that, but I also get polymorphic light eruptions, which is sort of like being allergic to the sun. Fortunately, I only get those on my hands. I’ve seen people who get them all over, and I can’t even imagine it. Even with what I have, I sometimes struggle to fall asleep, because my hands itch so bad.

I run cold water over them to calm the itching enough that I can fall asleep, and that usually works

I don’t want to move somewhere that is cold all the time.

I mean, I like cold weather, but I also like being able to get out and go swimming and kayaking and ride the horses without freezing my butt off.

But I don’t like having itchy rashes all summer, between allergies, bug bites, and PMLE.

I discovered a while ago that unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) not only helps the itching to go away, but also gets rid of the rash itself. It’s a little messy to put it on with a cotton ball though, and I always feel like I am wasting a lot, because it always soaks into the cotton ball.

Then I had the thought that there had to be some way to make a salve or lotion with ACV. After googling for a little while, checking out some recipes and interactions, I settled on this.

I added some essential oils, both because they are beneficial, and because I thought that they would help to cut the smell of the ACV. And I was right. This stuff actually smells really nice.

So, without anymore yapping, because I’ve done plenty of that already, here is the recipe:

ACV Summer Salve

2 TBSP Coconut oil

1.5 tsp beeswax

1.5 TBSP ACV

1-2 drops each peppermint and lavender oil (optional)

  • Put coconut oil, beeswax, and ACV into a small glass bowl. You can microwave this if you want. I would suggest short intervals in the microwave, stirring frequently. I don’t have a microwave, so used a double-boiler method with a pan.

 

  • Stir with a plastic spoon. You shouldn’t be getting this hot enough to melt plastic, and metal reacts with ACV. Wood isn’t a good idea, because the oil will soak into the wood too much.

 

  • When everything is combined, remove from heat, pour into jar with lid, and add EO if using. Do this quickly, or the coconut oil will begin to solidify on your spoon and bowl. If this happens, return to heat for a minute.

 

  • Put lid on, and carefully shake jar a couple of times.
    Now, when I did this, the lid expanded as though to seal itself, and everything went solid within a couple of shakes. Bubbles formed on the bottom, and I set it down to wait for it to cool off. I’m not sure if this is normal, but if it happens to you, just know that it is fine, and don’t take the lid off until the mixture has cooled down. You may be sprayed with hot salve, which could be painful. Then you’d need to make a burn salve.

 

  • When you finally take the lid off, there’s a good chance that the ACV will have separated out a little. Stir it vigourously to incorporate everything, and you’re good to go. Natural lotions and creams often separate. Even if there is a little liquid that won’t mix back in, just give it a swirl before you use it.

 

I personally quite like this salve. It seems to stop the itching, and though I’ve not used it long enough, I would guess that it will help it to heal more quickly. The oil keeps the ACV from drying out as it heals.

The cream smells nice once it is on your skin, but don’t stick your nose in the jar to give it a sniff. You’ll end up with sinuses full of ACV fumes. It’s not bad for you, but it is also not pleasant…

Even just used as a hand cream, this salve gives a lovely silky feel to your skin. But it does take a while to soak in, so if you’re using it on your hands, do it when you’re not going to be doing a lot. While you’re watching tv, or just before bed would be great. Not when you need to turn a doorknob.

Let me know if you try it, and how you like it. Feel free to ask any questions you may have as well.

 

Disclaimer: Nothing in this blog is meant to be taken as medical advice. I am sharing only what I have experienced, and people react differently to different things.
If in doubt, ask your Dr., and always test new products on a small area first, in case of allergic reaction.

 

Leave a Reply

