Faux Thai Iced Tea

I may have a problem…

It’s a drinking problem…

Well, it’s a tea drinking problem.

I have a box for my teas, but they’re always overflowing, because I keep buying more.

P1010365

I’ve actually stopped going down the tea aisle at the store, because I always see a flavour I NEED to buy.

There are very few flavours of tea that I do not like, though my favourites tend to be warmer spices, such as chai. The types you would be more likely to put milk or cream in.

But I also like a good blueberry tea, or something like that.

Green tea is probably my least favourite, which is too bad since it’s so healthy.

When I was younger, my Dad made me a wall hanging from a box of Celestial Seasonings Sleepy Time Tea. He cut out the pictures of the bears on the boxes, and put them on a board, with a coating of varnish over them.

At that point, chamomile tea was about the only tea I drank.

Lately, I have been drinking a lot of Earl Grey tea. Usually hot, with a little bit of stevia and cream, but it also makes a really good, quick variation on Thai iced tea.

Thai iced tea calls for a specific kind of thai tea, and often a variety of spices.

But, at a farmer’s market, I had a glass of Thai iced tea, and it reminded me of Earl Grey tea (maybe they weren’t making it right…I’m not sure). So that’s what I have been using.

Earl Grey Thai Iced Tea

  • 1 bag of Earl Grey tea
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp sweetened condensed milk*
  • Ice
  1. Boil water and prepare cup of tea as usual.
  2. Add sweetened condensed milk, and stir until melted.
  3. Let tea steep for 3-5 minutes, then put cup in fridge to chill for at least 20 min.**
  4. Fill glass with ice.
  5. Remove teabag, stir tea to get sweetened condensed milk that may have settled, and poor over ice.

*use more or less as desired
** The teabags I use don’t make the tea bitter if they stay in the cup, so I leave the bag in the cup while it is in the fridge.

P1010419

It’s super easy (obviously), and the only thing you have to be careful about is to give enough time for the tea to chill so it doesn’t melt the ice straight off and ruin your drink.

Everything about it is adjustable.

Do you like it sweeter? Add more sweetened condensed milk.

Too sweet? Use cream instead of sweetened condensed milk.

Not strong enough? Use two teabags.

Too strong? More water.

How do you drink your tea? Leave a comment and let me know.

3 thoughts on “Faux Thai Iced Tea

Leave a Reply

