Itching to Garden

I love to garden.

But I hate warm weather.

Those two are a bit at odds with each other.

But see, the thing is, I am allergic to a ton of things in the summer.

Not sneezy allergic, but allergic in that I wind up with a very itchy rash, which lasts most of the summer, makes it hard to sleep, and is made even more uncomfortable by heat and sweat.

It always starts out nicely…

We portion out the garden; I get part, Dad gets part, and we start working.

We plant our little seeds, and the baby plants that we get from Wal-Mart.

And then it’s time to weed.

I go out and start pulling weeds from around my baby plants, in the hopes of getting a decent harvest later in the year.

The horses stand by the fence, whinnying at me in the hopes that I’ll find some tasty morsels among the weeds for them to munch.

And I usually do.

A favourite of theirs is horseweed.

Also know as giant ragweed.

Which could also go by the name satan weed if I have anything to say about it.

It’s one of the weeds I am allergic too (though, it seems like I am allergic to more each year).

I pull it out, and even if I am wearing gloves, it doesn’t make much of a difference. I still end up with the little hairs in my skin somehow.

I swear, they must have heat seeking sensors on them, which draw them to my skin.

So, if I want to garden, and not be covered with an itchy rash, I can only garden when I have time to get my work done, and take a long shower to wash off the allergens immediately after.

And that kind of sucks.

I want to work in the garden, and then be able to relax and have some lemonade, or read a book. And still not worry about how itchy I’ll be the next day.

Oh, and did I mention that the shower doesn’t guarantee anything?

I still run a very good chance of ending up with a nasty itchy rash on my hands, arms, and face.

Fun times.

Every spring, I question if gardening and hiking in the woods is worth the discomfort of my allergies.

I always decide it is, but I think it’s about time to find out what can be done about all of this stuff.

Summer will never be my favourite season. I don’t like that much heat, and I get tired of removing ticks from the animals. But I’d like to not dread it.

And then I am allergic to the summer sun as well…That hasn’t started yet this year, but I’ll post with more details if/when it pops up.

One thought on “Itching to Garden

Leave a Reply

