Oil and Weeds

I have just filled my dehydrator with Plantain leaves (the weed, not the banana…), and chocolate mint.

The plan is to dry the plants, infuse them into olive oil, then add beeswax to make it solid enough to work with chapstick tubes.

I am rather excited about making this balm, and seeing how it works. Plantain is currently one of my favourite herb, and it would be great to have it in stick form that I can take with me when I travel and whatnot.

I don’t know if the infused oil will be as strong as the fresh herb, but it will be useful when the fresh herb isn’t available, whether due to the season, or because I am traveling somewhere that it doesn’t grow.

Anyway, there’s a lot of “I don’t know” in this post. I’m not really sure what to expect, but since I just started drying the herbs, and plan to infuse them soon, I thought I’d go ahead and share my plans.

I will also, within the next week or so, share my infusing process, and follow that up with the process of making the balm. And then, hopefully a review of the balm, where I tell you how wonderful it is :~)

But for now, enjoy this picture of my lovely little chocolate mint plant.

DSCF9996 (2)

3 thoughts on “Oil and Weeds

  1. I use the fresh leaves…let them steep in the oils. Works great in oil or the more solid (your beeswax) form for a variety of things. Within a lip balm container would be easy to travel with. Chocolate Mint will make a great smelling balm. Nice!

    Like

    1. I considered using the fresh leaves, but from what I found, it looks like there’s much more of a chance that it can spoil, due to the moisture content. Figured I’d play it safe, since it doesn’t take much more effort.
      And yes, I’m really looking forward to the chocolate mint :~)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

