“Lie”festyle

I’m rewatching Gilmore Girls with my folks.

I’ve seen the whole thing before, but this is their first time.

And watching it this time, I’m realizing that I just don’t understand the lifestyle.

What lifestyle? There are a bunch of them in the show.

The Gilmore parents, with their club, and their fortune and the concern about what people think?

Or the Kim family, with the hiding and secrecy and expectations?

Or all of the crazy intense people at Rory’s private school, where kids snipe and backbite and won’t be friends with anyone who can’t give them something?

I’d have a hard time with any of those lifestyles, but the one I’m talking about is the lifestyle belonging to the actual Gilmore Girls.

I could handle the weird junk food diet, the large amounts of coffee, and the not being too concerned about societal norms.

But what about the lies?

Lorelai and Rory make the Lane Kim look like the most honest person ever.

Even when it doesn’t matter, they lie.

Even when they comment that the lie was the wrong choice, they continue to lie.

They lie to everyone who means anything to them; friends, boyfriends, parents, acquaintances, each other. It’s practically a pathological issue.

They lie for each other, they lie for their friends. I’m pretty sure that they lie in every single episode.

It should be an item on the Gilmore Girls exercise or drinking games.

I can’t imagine living like that.

Especially when you make a big deal about being unique and not worrying about how people feel about you.

If that’s true, there’s no need to lie and try to convince others that you are perfect.

And if you’re truly friends with someone, and care about them, you’ll want to be honest with them.

What do you think? Did you notice this in Gilmore Girls? Or am I just being too picky?

4 thoughts on ““Lie”festyle

  1. I used to watch this show all the time and then I had a similar revelation. Even shows like Gossip Girl and The O.C. fall into this category. I like to file these shows under “Soap Operas”. Although technically they’re not, there’s so much unnecessary drama that goes on! It’s not likely people watch these shows because they’re so awesome, it’s more like they’re so addictive because of the drama. lol

    Like

    1. I agree. They aren’t so overdone as soap operas, but they have the same emotional effect. They’re kind of fun to watch if you don’t think too much about it, but if you do, you start to see everything that’s wrong with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. exactly. Lol, every time my aunt has the tv on, I duck past the room because she loves soap operas and I don’t wanna get addicted. They’re way overdone, but at least with Gilmore Girls I can watch it. As long as I don’t think about it too much.

        This post made me laugh and I was nodding my head because I could relate. Very well done 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

