Hostels and the Introvert

Ah…Hostels. The preferred lodging for 20-somethings while they travel.

If you go for that kind of thing…

b7bfceaiiae_lhw

Ah, Richard and Emily, I seldom agree with you, but on this one, I must say I do.

If you read any articles about choosing the right hostel, they mention things like the common room, and activities that you can get involved in.

They make it sound desirous to be in a full room, so that you have plenty of time to interact with the other travelers.

Maybe I’m just too old for that…Though there are a lot of people older than me who seem rather fond of the hostel scene.

13511009_10154236907256904_1313289423513789355_n
The blue trimmed building is the hostel in Athens where I stayed.

I do not like feeling like I have to interact with people all the time. I’m out and about, chatting with shop owners, and random people who want to talk to an American all day. When I get back to my room, I just want to chill and not speak to anyone. It’s the whole introvert thing.

But in a hostel, you tend to end up with people who want to talk. Maybe they’ve been on the road for an extended amount of time, and haven’t really had anyone to connect with.

I have always been someone to whom people like to open up.

I don’t know why.

I don’t think that my general vibe screams “TALK TO ME!!!”, but that is how people tend to interpret it.

So people spill their life story, and I wind up super exhausted, because I don’t have my recharge time.

I did have a couple of roomies in one of the hostels that I got along pretty well with. We sat on the balcony, and talked as we watched the kittens across the road.

But that doesn’t happen so often.

I am sort of happy, when I check into a hostel, to find myself climbing to a higher floor, knowing that it’s more likely that I’ll be the only inhabitant of the room. Then I can come back to the hostel in the evening and crack a book, or turn on some music or a movie, without looking rude.

12932727_10154027080621904_1046936594072213079_n
Reading some Les Mis on the 5th floor balcony of a hostel on Viktoros Ougko street in Athens (yes, named after Victor Hugo). 

I have pretty well decided now that hostels are only an option for me in Europe or somewhere like that where private rooms are crazy expensive. Or if it is the off season, and there aren’t as many travelers in the area. Sometimes hostels work out for introverts, such as when you end up in an empty room, or with people that you get along well with.

But if you are an introvert who is traveling, you probably already know that if you wind up in a place where you can’t have recharge time, you will be exhausted your whole trip and won’t enjoy it as well.

Even in budget travel, sometimes you have to choose a “lesser evil”. Are you more concerned about having your alone time, or about traveling on a budget? Maybe one leg, stay in a hostel, and the next, you can splurge a little on a private room. Or determine that you will stay in hostels when they’re a lot cheaper than a single room.

How about it? Do you like hostel life? Do you have to recharge with time alone, or do you enjoy sharing a room with someone?

13729071_10154288891071904_4668051406253212129_n
And the cooking arrangements in hostels…Fun times…
4 thoughts on “Hostels and the Introvert

    1. I feel like it’s one of those things people should try if they do much traveling, just so they know how they like it. And they are adorable, aren’t they? Easy to see how we spent a few hours straight watching them :~)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve stayed in a hostel once and it was a decent experience. I only really came back to sleep, so I didn’t mind being around others, and I only talked with my roomies for a short time. It’s a great option if you’re looking for inexpensive housing. Loved the kitten pics 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

