Faith and Hot Cross Buns

Last year, I sort of lost my faith.

This year, I’ve not really been bothered.

I was making hot cross buns, and recognized the irony of making a bun to celebrate a holiday when I don’t know how I feel about said holiday.

It’s like fasting during Ramadan, even though I’m not a Muslim.

It made me decide that I need to learn what I believe.

I can’t just go off of the faith that I claimed as a child. I can’t claim to believe things but not know what it truly is.

So I have to work it out for myself, and I am determined to do so.

I hope within the next year, but I don’t know how long it will really take. As long as I make good progress in the next year, I’ll be happy with it.

Funny what hot cross buns can trigger.

20170414_145018
Not only do they make me consider my faith, but they taste lovely too :~)
One thought on “Faith and Hot Cross Buns

  1. I sort of relate to this, as while I’ve blindly followed all traditions this year, as I do every year, people and things that I’ve encountered in the past year have got me to think a lot about what I believe, and how much I accept all these things that I’ve sort of just taken for granted.
    For instance, I gave up eating desserts this Lent, and I stand by my decision, but I’m not really able to give any reasoning for it, or justify it to anyone who asks why I do it. And as I tend to consider myself a generally rational person, that leaves me feeling pretty contradictory.

    Who knows, perhaps by next year I too will have a better idea of what I believe, and how those beliefs are going to translate into actions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

