A Single Valentine’s Day

It is a widely acknowledged fact that Valentine’s Day is a holiday for couples. But in the last few years, it has almost become expected that single people will put at least as much effort into the day as couples will.

We are supposed to make it known that we are not bothered by our singleness, and we are able to love ourselves no matter what our relationship status is.

Single people buy their own flowers, buy extravagant jewelry for themselves, and go out for fancy solo dinners. All in the name of not being affected by the love that is all around them.

And then, of course, there is the second expectation. That if you don’t put effort into a crazy “I’m happy dating myself/dating Jesus/dating my dog or cat” day, that must mean that you’re pouting, and you hate people in relationships.

I’m not Jewish, so I don’t celebrate Hanukkah. I’m not Muslim, so I don’t celebrate Eid. I’m not British, so I don’t celebrate Guy Fawkes day. Why on earth should I, as a single person, celebrate a holiday for couples?

Valentine’s Day seems to be the most confusing holiday of the year. It’s made for couples, but causes arguments, and annoyance between the members of the couples. People, often regardless of what sort of relationship they’re in, complain more about Valentine’s Day than they do even about the early decorating for Christmas.

My feeling is, if you want to celebrate something, celebrate it. I’ve participated in Holi and Eid celebrations, and various other festivals. As long as you don’t do it in such a way that it is offensive to those for whom it is truly important, go crazy. Do what makes you happy. Lord knows people complain about more things than they actually enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

