Let Me Tell You…

Favourite Holiday Tradition

dscf8894

It’s funny, because one of my favourite traditions is going to the Christmas Eve service at my old church.

I don’t currently attend church, and I’m not sure how I feel about God/Jesus/Christianity/the whole lot.

I went to this church from the time that I was a baby, up until I was about 17, when we left due to very bad blood. I was hurt badly by people in the church, and all but swore I would never go back.

But now it has become one of our newest traditions to go back there on Christmas Eve for the service.

It’s so strange. It’s a mix of comfortable and incredibly awkward. It’s very much the same as it was when I was little, just different kids doing the parts in the little Christmas skit. People welcome us with open arms, and act as though we never left.

Every year I say that I don’t want to go, and in the days leading up to it, I almost decide many times to not go. But when it comes down to it, I am always glad that I have gone.

So I guess it has stolen its way back into being a favourite Christmas tradition.

Leave a Reply

