Puppy Love Afghan DIY

I don’t do well naming things. I don’t like naming blogs, I don’t like naming photo albums. I’m always asked at work to name the photos and videos that I do, and I hate it. I usually title them the name of the business, and the name of the song used for the background. Not real pretty, but it works.

dscf1229

Then I wanted to post directions for this little afghan. But to do that, it needed a name. I could have called it the Old Shale afghan, or the Feather and Fan afghan. Those are both names for the stitch I used. But that is a little boring.

dscf1233

So I thought about what happened to the first afghan of this type that I made. I finished it, and it was laying on the couch beside me. Barely any time had passed before my dog Leaf climbed up, laid on the blanket, put her head down on it, and looked at me like, “This is my blankie…I love it, and I will never give it back.”

dscf9678

Now, I should mention that Leaf has an obsession with blankets. She is super friendly, but doesn’t connect with people very well. With blankets though? That’s another story. She falls in love with blankets like a teenage girl falling for the newest boy band. And this afghan is one of her favourites. She doesn’t like it when I move it so that she can’t reach it, so my lovely new afghan is full of dog hair.

dscf0400

I understand her feelings. This afghan is so soft and light, but at the same time, it is cozy and warm. It knits up quickly, and is much more simple than it looks.

One caveat, I would not make this as a baby blanket. Nor would I suggest that you do that. It is a very loose blanket, and snags easily. It is just the thing that could easily wrap around a tiny finger or toe and cause some problems. It’s a lovely stitch, but there are a lot that are better for baby blankets.

dscf0373
Cosette thinks it makes a wonderful baby blanket.

Warning out of the way, let me show you the stitch. It is a four row pattern, and only the one row really takes close attention. I usually read while knitting rows 1, 2, and 4, and focus on row 3. I have tried reading while doing row three, but I often end up with the wrong count by the end, so it is safer to pay attention.

dscf0929

This is for a blanket which will be approximately 42″ by 66″ when finished:
CO 144 st.
Row 1: Knit
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: K2tog 3 times *yo, k1 x6, k2tog x6. Repeat from * until there are only 12 st left. yo, k1 x6, k2tog x3
Row 4: Knit. This row will look strange, because you are knitting on the purl side.

Repeat pattern 6 times for each stripe and continue until it is the desired length. If you want to make a wider or narrower, it should be adjusted in multiples of 18.
Weave in ends, and poof, you have an afghan

dscf1144

My first afghan, the one Leaf loves, is made entirely of leftover skeins. Because of that, it has no rhyme nor reason to its stripes. I worked the pattern til I ran out of one colour, then I switched to the next one.

dscf0399
No…it’s not sports teams. Just the random colours I had on hand.

If you try the pattern, share pictures so I can see them. And if you have dogs or cats that love your blanket, share pictures of them too :~)

dscf0308

Leave a Reply

